Writer’s Block

It’s been a while since I posted because I have a version of writer’s block. I have plenty of things I could write about but nothing feels important enough in light of  the problems so many are dealing with.

I could tell you about the horrible summer we had and how it’s been so cold here that I had to pull out my winter blankets almost two weeks ago or how the Farmers’ Almanac is calling for a  harsh cold winter for this area.  Yet, while I am disappointed with our weather and the possibility of a harsh conditions after a nasty summer I am grateful for the safe environment I have when I see the devastation other parts of the country, and world, are dealing with.

I could share updates on the home improvements or more furniture I’ve made over. Again, that feels so small in comparison to the pain so many are feeling.

I’m suffering from my own version of writer’s block.

For those in the US, we have plenty of coverage on Hurricane Harvey or the incoming hurricane a week out while places such as Mumbai are underwater and we hear close to nothing.  It may be cold here, but I have a dry home warm blankets and heat I can turn on to be comfortable.

Of course there might be a silver lining to this hurricane season. Florida announced they have canceled plans to construct new nuclear plants and will instead build solar farms. I can’t imagine any coastal region building nuclear plants after Fukushima but that’s just me.

So instead of complaining about the need for gloves this morning let me share something positive with you….a new generation growing their own food.

This is my oldest grandson who was responsible for the green beans in his garden. He’s so proud of his results.

Little Guy asked to grow two things this summer, strawberries and carrots.  He helped expand the strawberry beds with new plants but the carrots he started from seed.  As soon as he had planted the seeds he thought the dirt was just as fun to play in as sand and began to build castles and houses with the dirt.  I had planned to plant more seeds for him later but low and behold his seeds took!

He’s learned when carrots are ready to pick by looking for the visible orange top.

Here was is first carrot. He was so excited that at first he proudly carried it around refusing to wash or taste it.

Once we convinced him it was okay to eat his carrot because there were more to pick only  he could wash his carrot.  I hadn’t realized until he took  his first bite that he loves cooked carrots but didn’t like raw carrots.  He made quite the face but continued to eat more. He now loves his raw carrots.

Every carrot he picks he has to share with everyone around.  This is something I love about small children, when they like something they want to share because they believe everyone else will love it too. No stinginess in small children.

 

I hope this brought a smile to your day.

21 comments

  1. Your oldest grandson has really grown! I love the photo of him proudly holding his bean and the little guy with his carrot. I bet they will remain healthy eaters all their lives.
    The devastation from flooding here and abroad is awful. I have to remind myself of all the good people who are helping and giving, like Mr. Rogers said. And hopefully it will lead to some of the climate change naysayers taking another look at real science.

    Like

    • You aren’t kidding he’s grown! He’s so tall it shocks me to see him standing next to his father who is 6’3″ and see how quickly he’s catching up to him.

      Cynthia, you were the first person who came to my mind when I hear the next hurricane, which could become a cat 5, could hit the east coast. If it turns for your area, please be careful and let us know how you are doing when you can. As for the naysayers, I doubt even if they accept climate change is real will they change behaviors to lessen the impact.

      Like

  2. The one good thing that has come out of the #45 administration is that there is more awareness of the need to be kind to all. Your post is wonderful at focusing in on the sharing and caring. Your boys and grandchildren have learned that from your example. I’m one of those kids who had no idea where food comes from until I was an adult with growing children of my own. I had no idea about the devastation in Mumbai There is devastation going on somewhere every single day. Even here. We are being called to kindness and caring but you are already there. Giant hugs.

    Like

    • Ha! I was telling a friend the one good thing coming out of 45’s white house is that congress is starting to work together in a bipartisan way on some core issues. Of course healthcare isn’t one of them.

      I can’t take all the credit for teaching the little ones to garden and enjoy fresh food. Their parents have done the same. My daughter-in-law came from Arizona where she had never seen a garden or had real food in her home. She used to come to my house for healthy food when dating my son. Now that she lives here she puts in a small garden. This year she started too many plants and had to plant some in my beds. When she visits, a few times a week, the first thing she does is check all the beds, my plants included. She’s like a little child excited to see what’s growing and the children follow her around mirroring her excitement.

      While we have the refineries and chemical plants to deal with in Houston I worry more for the people of Mumbai because the country is so poor. We have so many resources here to help those suffering I wonder who will help those in the poorer nations deal with the devastations.

      Did you hear about J.J. Watt, the football player who started a youcaring fund for Houston? He started it with $100,000 of his own money and hoped to raise a matching amount. He was very outspoken about getting lawyers involved to ensure the money was handled properly and how every penny would go to the residents. Anyway, to make a long story short the fund has grown to over $15 million. It’s the fastest growing crowdsourced fund ever. If you are curious here’s an article on it. http://www.kxxv.com/story/36263691/jj-watts-youcaring-for-hurricane-harvey-raises-11-million-enlists-drake-breaks-records-as-largest-fastest-charitable-crowdfunding-campaign-ever

      Liked by 1 person

      • I did hear about J.J. Watt. There is a lot of good coming out of this. The problem with the news is that there is selective reporting. This country is filled with people ready to help at the drop of a hat and there is plenty of money and energy to do it. Other countries, I don’t know why they can’t help each other there. We are truly a giving nation. I hope that never ends. Now if they could get you a working chair, I’d be happy.

        Like

        • Yes, as individuals we are incredibly giving. It’s sad it takes a disaster to remind us of how much good is out there.

          I can’t complain too much, this chair gets me around even though it’s developed a few glitches but I’ll be happy when I have a new one I can trust again.

          Liked by 1 person

  3. I know what you mean. I’ve been working on my bathroom floor, and let’s just say that it hasn’t been the same sort of “immediate success” experience that ripping out the avocado green shag was! But when you turn on the tv and see the stuff other folks are dealing with, well, my little floor challenge pales by comparison.

    The weather’s been strange here too – we had cool, almost cold weather for most of August, but now we’re back to 90s… My garden hasn’t quite known what to make of it. The tomatoes and zucchini, which are usually foolproof have been suffering. But hey, I’ve got a bumper crop of cucumbers!

    Anyhow, it’s heartening to see your grandkids enjoying the garden so much. A little ray of hope in this crazy world of ours.

    Like

    • Wow! You’re tackling your bathroom! Are you just working on the floor or are you going to do more work in there?

      We really are lucky to be living inland aren’t we? I love being near water but have to be thankful that I’m not living near the coastal regions.

      My zucchini is the only thing exploding and doing well. My other squashes are doing okay but it’s taking forever for them to ripen with so little sunshine and cold temps. I wish our weather would warm up again but I don’t see it happening, it just keeps getting colder.

      I am thrilled to see my grandkids learning to grow their own food and eat from the gardens, both here and at their homes. Growing food and learning to repair things have been my top priorities in what I think they will need to know for their furtures.

      Like

  4. Sometimes, Lois, hearing, and reading about all the ‘little’ things in life is a welcomed relief from all the big and bad things in the world right now. Never be afraid or unwilling to share your little things as it brings smiles to us that enjoy reading them.
    I remember the first time I helped my dad grow his garden. The feeling of accomplishment and pride in pulling out that first carrot or picking that first green bean! Ah, I’m so happy that your grandkids will be able to remember their first time also. 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks, Jackie. Sometimes I feel what I should be writing is something profound, a piece that brings relief to the troubles we’re facing. Unfortunately, I am like many others who are simply overwhelmed with how big the troubles are and can’t come up with anything profound. In this case, I figured the children were more inspiring than another furniture redo.

      I wasn’t as lucky as you to work side by side in the garden. My grandfather took sole responsibility for the garden, it was his “thing” but I got to reap the rewards from his work. We were always told we could pick as much as we wanted, it pleased him to no end to see the joy of children in his garden. For my part, I’m thrilled my boys and their significant others have encouraged their children to plant gardens. The kids get to pick what they want to grow each year at home as well as here.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Hi Lois, yes the disasters around the world serve to make us think and to be grateful. Your post is refreshing – there’s nothing like seeing the next generation growing into one of nurturers, and your grandkids sound like such awesome kids. Hey that’s good news about the powers that be canning nuclear for solar.

    Like

    • Hi Anne, I was thrilled to see Florida shelved plans for more nuclear plants. Florida has plenty of sun to support solar farms and is much safer should they have a weather related disaster.

      Glad you enjoyed the pictures of the boys showing off their rewards in the garden. It makes me so happy they want to grow their own food.

      Like

  6. This brought a huge smile to my face Lois. And you are not on your own with not feeling like blogging.. We are very fortunate compared to many around the world right now suffering the effects of storms..
    So yes Like you I count my blessings..
    Your grandson looks so proud of his growing skills.. And so he should be.. I am sure you have set the seeds within your grandchildren the importance of growing food and learning to respect and live in nature.. as well as he will become a good DIY as he will no doubt pick up many tips from you with all the skills you will be passing along.
    Loved the photos xx

    Like

    • I’m so glad it brought a smile to your day, Sue. Yes, my grandson is very proud of his green beans this summer. He wants to live on a farm and grow and raise his own food. His parents want the same, they are in the process of saving for property they can farm. That boy loves work and has mastered restoration of furniture, loves sanding pieces and can build simple furnishings already and he just turned nine this week!

      Liked by 1 person

      • You have given him a sound basis Lois to which to aspire to.. And I feel he will achieve his goals.. He knows what he wants and that is very inspiring at a young age..
        My granddaughter who is just 6 has since she was 4 said she wants to be a Dr.. And still keeps saying it, No one is a Dr or has given her the idea.. But I am sure if she continues learning at the pace she is at.. ( Her teachers are very impressed) then she has no reason not to.. The sky is the limit and we only set limits upon ourselves.. xxx ❤

        Like

        • I hope your granddaughter follows her heart and does what she loves when she’s older. My grandchildren are all over the board when it comes to their dreams. One wants to be a tattoo artist, one a farmer, one wants to be a “bed maker” because it’s fun and she says she’s good at it. 🙂 The baby hasn’t said, but we’ve all agreed he would be content raising farm animals.

          Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear your thoughts, won't you please tell me what's on your mind?

