Salvaged Planters

One afternoon on a stroll I spotted two metal deck planters in someone’s trash. I picked them up and carried them home.  I cleaned the rust spots off with a wire brush then painted them.

They needed liners but those are expensive so I pulled out some fabric I had on hand, organic duck upholstery fabric, and used that instead.

To save even more money I filled them with seeds instead of live plants.  I’ve got Forget-me-nots and Alyssum, the blue and white will look nice against the white rails when they sprout.

We had a lot of rain right after I put these out and you can see the fabric allowed the excess water to filter through the fabric nicely.

Total cost: I had paint and soil on hand which left me with a total expenditure of $1.00 for seeds.

 

17 thoughts on “Salvaged Planters

    1. I’m looking forward to seeing how they look with the blue and white flowers. I’m really bad at growing flowers from seed but I keep trying. I’m hoping this is the year I finally get my green thumb with flowers. 🙂

      Like

    1. You are so right, Sue. I just need to be careful I don’t try holding on to all fabric I find and use it in a timely manner or I will no longer have a Minimalist Farmhouse. 🙂

      Like

  1. Lovely…

    I love, too, the blue fabric…the colour is perfect with white fence etc.. I suspect it will be quite durable and long lasting…

    I used to have a neighbor that had some smaller baskets like you, hanging on her back wall, which I could see from my kitchen window. I saw that every single yr, she replaced her purchased fabric..every single yr. I suspect that was not quite necessary, but, I also suspect your duck fabric will last for at least five or six yrs…

    Great find.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Anon. Blue and white is my favorite color combination. I do hope I won’t have to replace the fabric each year. I’m hoping I can remove the soil and wash the fabric for next summer but we shall see how it holds up. I bet looking out your window at your neighbors planters was a beautiful view.

      Like

    1. Not sure if I’d call it smart, I just wasn’t willing to spend thirty dollars to hold my soil in place. 🙂 On the small porch I want to have planters incorporated into the railing around it.

      Like

        1. Same here. I work outside when it stops. We’ve had so much rain that working in the yard is hard because the ground is so wet I’m having getting stuck in areas I never did before. I’m telling myself it will all get done in time.

          Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear your thoughts, won't you please tell me what's on your mind?

