Most Recent Books I’ve Read

So much for thinking I would do an end of month summary of the books I both liked, and disliked, for that period. Again I am halfway through April and haven’t shared the books read in the month of March. Looking back at the list of books I’ve read since I last posted on this subject I found this may be one of the most eclectic months of reading in a long time.

First, I had the opportunity to read two very different books by fellow bloggers and enjoyed them both.

philipsThe Case of Deceit by JL Phillips better known to many of you as Jackie at To Breathe is to Write.  This was a fun, fast-paced Private Detective story involving Dee Dee Watson and her sidekick pup, Tee.  I have loved getting to know Jackie for her wit which spills over in her character of Dee Dee.  This is one laugh-out-loud story and I look forward to the next edition of this series.

 

 

 

gottbergRightsizing: A SMART Living 365 Guide to Reinventing Retirement by Kathy Gottberg. Kathy blogs at SMART Living 365, and in this book Kathy has compiled a collection of her blog posts pertaining to retirement.  It’s nice to have the structure this book offers over searching through the pages of posts on her website, although please feel free to go visit as there is wealth of wonderful articles to be found.  While this book is about reinventing retirement I wouldn’t just recommend this to those retired or about to retire as the information is invaluable to those of all ages and the younger you know what you want the easier it will be to retire comfortably or maybe even earlier than one would expect.

 

kill your blogIn an attempt to help my son get the word out about his writing since he doesn’t have a blog I read Kill Your Blog: 12 Reasons Why You Should Stop F#$%ing Blogging!  by Buck Flogging aka Matt Stone. Stone had a very successful blog with readership in the hundreds of thousands but was much like my son interested in blogging only to get attention for his books.  Stone shut down his blog and tells us how he freed up time for his real writing passion and how you too can get the attention for much less time invested than a blog requires. Stone goes on to show how his sales increased dramatically after he killed his blog. His tips do require an increased time commitment in the beginning to get noticed but after that initial period things settled down freeing up those hours to write his books.

 

mcdougallI turned my attention to learning more about my health by reading Dr. John McDougall’s Digestive Tune Up. I have been searching for years a simple answer to what happens in the body once a gallbladder has been removed.  I finally found the answer.  This is an interesting book as McDougall tells his story in a personable manner by using two clients and their conversations as they discuss their health problems during appointments with Dr. McDougall. If these are in fact real people they were two of the sickest people possible but at least they are humorous. The information, which could have been dull and dry, was highly entertaining while educational.

 

 

amish-valuesBeing disappointed in Money Secrets of the Amish by Loriliee Craker (you can find my review here) I spotted Amish Values for Your Family: What We Can Learn From the Simple Life by Suzanne Woods Fisher on Scribd and decided to give it a chance.  This was a better book with humorous quotes and lovely personal stories from Amish individuals.  To sum up in a few words Amish Values for Your Family could have been written about any generation or group of people who kept themselves separate from the rampant consumerism we see around us. Not a bad book but not one I would read again.

 

 

brysonIn a Sunburned Country by Bill Bryson, I satisfied my curiosity about Australia in a way only Bryson could tell the story.  I don’t know how Australians handle the amount of dangers the face (deadly insects and such) do day in, day out.  Bryson, takes us back through the founding of Australia right through to present day while he treks from one side of the country to the next.  He makes quite the case against the common practice of introducing non-native plants and animals into an ecosystem as well. In one story about a man who brought 24 rabbits to the country and let them loose for his enjoyment multiplied so quickly because they had no predators that the rabbits completely devoured the grass and plants without which the minuscule topsoil was blown away leaving barren land that spread covering a wide area.

But it’s Bryson’s wit that holds me. There are gems such as a little girl who tells a banker she built a house and when asked if she will be building a house next week too replies, “I will if we ever get the fucking bricks.” I bet her mother was proud at that moment.  Or the story of a man who asks another man if he knows why the seat between them is empty at a football game, not a common occurrence the game is so popular. The second man replies that it belonged to his wife who has passed away. After expressing his condolence the first man suggests he could have given the extra ticket to a friend or family member to which the widowed man responds “Oh no, they’re all at the funeral.”

 

zinnI began reading Howard Zinn’s People’s History of the United States through Scribd but hit my limit and wasn’t permitted more than a sample of the book, which I didn’t realize up front.  What I read was enlightening and I highly recommend the book to everyone.  There’s a lot of history left out of our education that explains a lot about the place we find ourselves today.

This is on my list to find at the library and complete my history lesson on my country.

 

 

 

chokeThe one book I didn’t enjoy was Choke by Chuck Palahniuk (best known for Fight Club).  The summary sounded interesting. Victor, a med school student, leaves school to find employment upon learning his mother has placed responsibility for her medical care on him. To come up with enough money to pay for her nursing home he makes the rounds of the best restaurants in the area and pretends to choke on food “allowing” people to save him and therefore feel responsible for him. In return they send him money to help with various stories he has given to each.  This story line was so implausible, if you are so down on your luck how is it that you could afford to dine at high end establishments in the first place? Anyway, there is very little about this choking for income and more about Victor’s sex addiction (very explicit scenes). What I did find interesting though was the story of Victor’s best friend, Denny.  Denny, also a sex addict, would have been the perfect character to build a story of addiction and ways addicts will substitute one addiction for another. I should be fair here and tell you I passed this book on to my son, a Palahniuk fan who loved it. This is one of those cases where you either love the book or hate it, I fell into the latter category.

Add to these I’ve also read my son’s latest books, Threads is a great trilogy I reviewed earlier. I also read his full-length novel Duality, a story about the good versus evil sides to our personalities, which he is currently using to test the traditional publishing path.

I could swear I read more books than that but those are all the ones I can recall.

As the months pass I find myself moving away from the subscription services for reading. My first experiment was with Oyster, which closed shop. I loved that service and miss it very much.  I decided to give Scribd a go and found it less than acceptable for me.  Popular titles, if available, are available only as audio books, which I don’t enjoy, with one audio book per month per customer. The only thing “unlimited” about the service is sheet music which I have no use for.

I considered the Kindle Unlimited but doing a search found titles I had an interest in reading weren’t included. I don’t understand the interest in Kindle Unlimited as it competes with Kindle Prime. For less money, Prime gives you free two day shipping on orders, free books in the lending library (a much more extensive library than that offered by Unlimited) and free movies. So why do people pay for Unlimited?

To add insult to injury my tablet died a week ago. One minute I’m reading then all of a sudden the screen becomes blurry and then just dies.   If I want to read using a Kindle app I’ll have to use my phone to do so. I’m not against using my phone, although I did like the larger screen of a tablet but I don’t find a lot of books offered for free of interest.  As a result expect to see more books read in print (my favorite anyway) that I’ll borrow from the library in coming months.

What have you been reading lately? Do you have any suggestions for unlimited ebook reading?

14 comments

  1. While the “Kill Your Blog” cover is horrendous, the idea sounds really interesting. Blogging is such a huge time commitment, even if you only have a small blog. I can’t imagine how stressful it must be to manage a blog with thousands of readers.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I can’t agree with you more. I can’t imagine how long it takes to read the comments and keep straight the back and forth conversations you could have.

      That is a horrible cover but if he was going for shock value, which I believe he was then he succeeded marvelously. That said, I love my blog because of the wonderful friendships it has brought my way but I found his arguments very compelling.

      Like

      • I love my little blog as well. I have been welcomed with open arms and am having a blast. An important part of blogging is engaging your followers and making them feel included and encouraging participation in discussions. So yes, you’re right about that aspect of managing a large blog being difficult. But for a serious writer, I could see the problems that could arise. There simply aren’t enough hours in the day and most people don’t have enough energy to handle a large blog and large writing projects.

        Like

        • Good point. I’m glad you are having a blast writing your blog and interacting with your readers. I have met some of the most amazingly kind people through blogging.

          Like

    • Thank you so much, Christy. I shared your message with Justin and he thanks you as well. He still remembered who you were because you left such an impression with your review of Be Mine.

      Like

  2. Bill Bryson is one of my favorite authors, one of the few who can send me into convulsions with his writing. We watched the movie of his book Into the Woods a couple weeks ago. It’s fun but didn’t follow the book and isn’t,half as funny.
    I’m finishing Huerfano which is a memoir by a woman who lived in a commune in the 1970s. I had hoped there would be more about the communal way of life than there is, but it’s still interesting.

    Like

    • Bill Bryson is fast becoming one of my favorite authors as well. This is only the second book of his I’ve read but I’ll keep my eyes open for more.

      As you know I loved Into the Woods but have no desire to see the movie. I adore Robert Redford and Nick Nolte but didn’t feel they would be able to inject the personality Bryson has in the book.

      If Huerfano isn’t about communal life what is it about?

      Like

  3. There is a lot of interesting stuff here, Lois. I am way behind you in the reading department. Blogging is sucking time like nobody’s business. Most of the reason I am always thinking of giving it up. Quilt group has become the same. I have so much to do here, I don’t need one more thing. I’m reading a book, slowly called “Healing yourself when no one else can” by Amy B Scher. It resonates. The guy with the choking scam, when you eat at a nice place and choke on the food and need rescuing, no one asks you to pay for your meal. They don’t want a lawsuit. It’s a good scam. I did read Jackie’s books way back an I love her writing. The quilting is going on hold till I get the house done. Like I said, something has to give and I don’t want it to be me again.

    Like

    • You know I’d miss you if you quit blogging but I would understand as you’ve probably noticed I blog in spurt lately because I just don’t have the time, or inclination to sit in front of the computer on other days. I’d rather you stop blogging for a while than wear yourself out trying to keep up.

      I’ll have to see if I can find Scher’s book. When I was younger I used to say I’d be the one to beat the Dystrophy and there is still that little voice telling me there is a solution I just have to find it. Other than some swelling in my feet and ankles from sitting so much I’m actually in pretty good health at this point, a few too many colds this year. Other than those issues I’m pretty happy considering I was so sick as a child and young adult.

      As for Choke, I got that his meal would be paid for but it was the fact that he gave a sob story to the person “saving” him, such as needing expensive dental work or being behind on rent, to get people to send him money to pay for those things that I found unbelievable about the story line.

      Liked by 1 person

        • We haven’t had 88 yet but Monday we hit 80! I was in heaven although four solid days of high 70s and beautiful sunny days to work in left me sunburned. Was worth every minute of being able to enjoy some warmth for a change.

          Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi Lois! It’s been a while since I’ve popped by and checked out your blog so I apologize for just seeing this now. You are such a supportive and generous blogger and it is greatly appreciated that you both included my Rightsizing book here and did a review on Amazon too. It’s doing pretty well. Better than the last one for sure. I’m certain you’ve had a hand it it’s success. And I’ve just returned from a blogging conference where I heard the name Buck Flogging for the first time. Some of the conversation was certainly about the fact that blogging does take a lot of time and effort AND it can keep us from writing. Best to always write about what we love and I know you do that. Thanks again for your support. ~Kathy

    Like

    • Kathy, I don’t know how you find the time with work, travel and your writing. I too have fallen way behind on keeping up with the bloggers I think of as my friends which includes your blog. Sorry. I’ve just finished four jobs I took on so maybe this week I’ll get caught up a bit.

      I’m glad your latest book is doing so good, it was nice nice to have your posts organized into a collection on a single topic. I have started to organized the posts from my first blog but then I get bogged down with other work and don’t get very far on my own writing. How was your conference?

      Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts, won't you please tell me what's on your mind?

