I Dreaded Today

Today could have been any other day, but it was one I dreaded. I woke early enough but tried to find ways to procrastinate. Could I go back to sleep? Was there a project I could do that would make me feel less guilty for staying home?

Maybe I need a dog to help me put off dreaded chores.
Maybe I need a dog to help me put off dreaded chores.

Today I had to shop. I needed to go to the grocery store.

I have never liked grocery stores, they involve decisions I don’t want to make.  In high school I worked in a grocery store which was fine at the time because I didn’t have to make a single decision for myself. I was there to assist the customer.  At that time I didn’t have to think about my meals, they were planned by another person, my grandmother. Yes, if there was a food I wanted I could write it on the list that resided on the corner of the counter and leave a few dollars to cover the cost but it wasn’t required of me to contribute to the list.

While a lot of our food came from the grocers even then, not all of it came from what we know as the grocery store of today.  We stopped at the butcher where we selected the specific cuts of meat we wanted, had the fat trimmed and wrapped in butcher paper labeled with a wax pencil ready to go straight into the freezer.

We also had meals dropped off by friends, oh how I loved those meals.  My grandmother’s best friend used to make huge,commercial-sized pans of Italian dishes which she would divide keeping a portion for her family’s use and the rest would be given to friends who enjoyed her cooking.

We shopped the road-side stands in the summer and bought as much as our money would allow. That produce along with the excess from our small backyard garden would be saved for winter meals.  I would wander in and out of the house catching different stages of the food being cooked and canned loving the smells that filled the entire house.

All this is to say that while some of our food came from the store a good number of the meals we ate, make that the majority of the foods I prepared for myself, didn’t come from the grocery store. Lasagna anyone?

If today was 1977, and I had to do my own shopping I don’t believe I would react in quite the same way I do now.  My choices would be limited but they would lend themselves perfectly to actual meals. In 1977, I didn’t know what GMOs were nor had the conversation of food miles, dirty dozen or recycling come to our consciousness.

It’s almost time to start the garden but with last year being such a disappointment my homegrown or local food ran out long ago. Farmers’ Markets won’t be open until June so the grocery store it has to be.  I had it in my head that I wanted a nice steaming bowl of vegetable soup for dinner tonight, if that were going to happen I had to go shopping.

These peaches are making me hungry. Good thing I didn't see this before I went shopping.
These peaches are making me hungry. Good thing I didn’t see this before I went shopping.

I couldn’t put this task off, believe me I tried. It was 2:30 in the afternoon before I could make myself pass through the door of my home with my reusable bag and cash.

My grocery store is very small. So small that to stock even a small portion of the foods people expect to find the foods have to be stacked on shelves that required a ladder or be over six feet tall. Not fun when you can only reach halfway up those shelves. The workers are very nice and would gladly help me to reach items I couldn’t on my own but I can never bring myself to ask for help.  How would it look if I asked to see that jar of sauerkraut only to then ask that it be returned to the shelf because it contained too much sugar? Better question would be, when did we start making sauerkraut with sugar?

The majority of the store can be summed up as processed, canned or shrink wrapped food-like substances and over priced baked goods. In-your-face displays of chips, soda and sugary cereals outnumbered healthy options by far.

Frozen vegetables were on sale, and knowing the fresh produce is far from acceptable, frozen is the freshest to be found.  My choices were; peas, corn, mixed vegetables and broccoli. I knew I wouldn’t find every vegetable but come on that’s all you have? I picked up a bag of peas.

Watermelon and cantaloupe were on sale but after examining three watermelons and finding spots on the rind that were already decaying and soft I turned to the cantaloupes. I found two in the compartment that passed inspection but still I held the one I considered best and contemplated how much fruit I still had because the melons were imported from South America.  I put the cantaloupe back and moved on.

 

go-gurt

I headed to the dairy aisle trying to come up with somewhat healthy options to have on hand for the little ones.  Who came up with Go-Gurts? Are we so lazy that we can’t pick up or wash a spoon or is it too tiring to lift a spoon multiple times? Yes, I want to put a plastic pouch into my mouth to then squeeze and suck the food out of it.  Do you remember those commercials a while back that tried to convince people to stop smoking by making fun of how ridiculous they looked puffing on a cigarette? That’s what I think of when I see a person eating a Go-Gurt.

I stopped on the way home to say hello to a neighbor when I saw her ten-year old granddaughter with what I am told is called a squeeze pouch. I did some research and found these were first marketed for toddlers to allow them to feed themselves.

squeeze pouches

I considered that a moment. How easy would it be for a toddler to squeeze too hard and end up wearing more of the food than eating it.  These, squeeze pouches often come with a spoon that are inserted in the opening of the pouch you then squeeze the pouch to fill the spoon to eat from. Thing is this child wasn’t using a spoon she was eating directly from the opening. I’m told none of the kids do it’s too much hassle, they just toss the spoon in the trash (along with the pouch when empty).  I’m told you can buy organic pouches, as well. Yay.

In the end I left with the bag of peas, a bunch of imported bananas and six individual boxes of raisins that were on the discounted rack to put in the snack drawer for the little ones.  What meal could I make from these?  Absolutely nothing.  I unpacked my purchases as I tried to figure out what I was going to have for dinner tonight.

Is it any wonder I dread grocery shopping?

How do you approach grocery days?

 

 

 

53 thoughts on “I Dreaded Today

  1. my food eating is much less carefully watched than you. I know I eat way too much from cans/way too much chemicals, etc…Sigh..Having said that I do better than most I know…

    I really really “look over” veg and fruit, and quite often will not take them home. I too have come to think that frozen veg/fruit (mostly berries/raspberries) are often a better/fresher/healthier choice.

    Quit a lot of years back, trying to improve our family’s health, we ate almost entirely organic..organic veg/fruit/meat etc…We had a large Bernese Mountain Dog, back then, and he loved to eat most things we did. He always had a dish of dried dog food out, but only ate that as a last resort.

    I joke, but it is not really a joke, that we spent enough money buying organic, to feed a small third world nation.

    After rather a lot (at least four or six) rather dodgy incidents, I now seldom buy organic..

    As I mentioned, our dog was mad about anything we ate, veg/fruit/meat…big on meat of course.

    I have a lot of allergies/chemical sensitivities, and I had this happen three times with meat (chicken and turkey),….I would have a few bites and feel sick. My family, although usually big meat eaters, would not admit it didn’t agree with them, but neither were they interested in seconds. I decided (these times were all spread apart), to try the meat on the dog..a BIG meat lover. The dog went over to the plate on floor, with just the cooked meat on it, sniffed it, and sort of whimpered and looked accusingly at me. THE DOG WOULD NOT EAT THE MEAT. Obviously the very very expensive organic (certified organic) meat has some sort of chemicals in it. Each time I took it back to the store (different ones each time)…and explained, and each time I got a “oh no, ours is totally chemical free etc etc. Each time I offered to bring my dog in from the car, and show them the dog would NOT even eat it. Each time they gave me my money back. I have had similar sort of “happenings” with fruit and veg, although those I did not return for money.

    All in all, I was totally discouraged…Wasted (I figured) money, and seemingly little/no health benefit.

    these days I suck it up, and just buy regular, although I do look it over carefully…it is always somewhat of a trial.

    Like

    1. I wonder why your animals wouldn’t eat the organic meats. I’ve never heard of that. Just this week my son and his wife hosted clients who brought organic grass-fed steaks and burgers to contribute for grilling. My daughter-in-law raved about the taste of the meat and as a result have ordered half a cow for their freezer. I think the biggest problem we have is that we have to take the word of the store or the labels no matter where we buy it. Many years ago, the first farmers’ market opened in a nearby city. I thought I was being clever and asked which pesticides the vendors used because I have a reaction to one type. I was told by several they used no pesticides, then finally one woman informed me she definitely used pesticides and so did every one else there, if they told me otherwise they were lying. I never went back. Luckily, soon after other markets opened and those were pesticide free.

      Like

      1. oh..our Dog no doubt would not eat it because it had some chemical in it or was raised with some nasty chemical. It made me sick, so I have no doubt it did. We didn’t eat a lot of prepared type meat/ that flat slices of ham or such you get from the deli, but when we did and I put some in his dish, I got the same reaction from him, and he would not eat it.
        I think it was that reaction (if the dog wouldn’t eat, should we?) that cut down our eating it even more.

        Yes organic meat is wonderful. Tastes great and is good for you. Through out the yrs (30) we have found two butchers who had family ranches/farms and raised organic beef, then had it processed at small private processors, then did the meat cutting themselves (as butchers) and sold it. Both were wonderful. Both eventually went out of business/quit selling as they said they could no longer afford it. That is to keep the quality up/ prices somewhat reasonable, etc…

        And, we have had organic chicken and turkey, wonderful, it is just, there have been occasions when they were not..so to speak.

        Guess those time I wrote about, someone took shortcuts, tried something “extra”. Or, maybe to give them the benefit of the doubt, the folks were short of their own feed and purchased some which was having something “extra” in it.

        Some of the things I read over the yrs that they feed animals to make them grow more/faster is awful.

        Like

        1. I could tell you horror stories of things I’ve seen fed to animals. I wish those who raise animals for food would look at their animals with respect first not dollar signs and treat the animals with some dignity in how they are cared for and raised.

          Like

  2. I hate grocery shopping. Just hate it. Everything is overpriced and iffy on what you are actually getting. I can’t afford fresh, so mostly I buy frozen. As for the meat. Well, it too is way overpriced and I can’t afford most of it. So I make do with what I can. I just dread trying to come up with something to cook for supper. 😦

    Like

    1. Jackie, we really should be sisters! Your feeling match mine perfectly. The prices here are so high for lousy quality that I could get almost the same amount of food at Whole Foods if I had one to shop at.

      Like

  3. Wow, I feel really fortunate to live in New Zealand. Our growers market is open every weekend, all year round. But also the supermarkets stock fresh local (as well as imported) fruit and vegetables, loose, that I can put into my own bag with no packaging. We have a bulk buy local shop for ingredients (again can be packaging free) and a butcher who will paper wrap my order. I no longer take all this for granted.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Anne. You are very fortunate indeed. We have a pretty harsh winter so unless you use a greenhouse there is nothing fresh to be found from local growers 3/4 of the year. Our markets are open from late June to late September so we have to stock up well during those months if we want to have freedom from the stores. The town I lived in until I moved here worked with a farmer who used a root cellar to store their organic apples then sold them in the winter months when people were sick of imported produce. Surprisingly, he didn’t inflate the prices either.

      Many supermarkets in the US do stock decent produce year round unless you live too far away from a city and the economy where you live is depressed. That’s what I have here. It’s been a shock after living in a higher economic town for more than twenty years.

      Like

  4. Since moving to the rural Deep South, I know exactly what you mean, Lois. To buy any organic food we have to travel an hour away and then the stores that carry organic are on a tourist/retirement island and ridiculously expensive. Like Anne, I got spoiled. Living in Minnesota I had a big garden myself plus good availability of fresh organic food nearby.
    So, we will drive an hour each way this morning to a farmers market that is actually a FARMERS market, not resellers who get the produce from a warehouse and resell it. There is no certified organic food there but the produce is fresh and some growers say they don’t use chemicals. Then we will stop at Walmart (no co-ops, no natural food stores, no bulk stores) and be thankful that Walmart is selling a few organic staples and that we aren’t like most of our neighbors and have a car and gas to drive the distance.
    The armadillo got in my new garden bed and dug up all the organic heirloom seeds I had planted. I got them at Walmart. They don’t have anymore. I will mail order some but it’s late to replant and by the time they get here it will be really hot and they will not grow very well.
    It has taken a lot of time, driving, and searching to get to this point in being able to buy “pretty good” food. No one else I have met here even thinks about going to all that trouble to shop. The results of having no choice but to eat from a small grocery or convenience store and McDonalds are apparent all around us with the terrible health of the people.

    Like

    1. Cynthia, I would have thought being in the south you would have more access to locally grown food almost year round, then I remembered you telling me you lived in a very poor area and that makes more sense as that’s what I did. I moved from a pretty well-off suburb to a little town no one wants to acknowledge exists. I would love to find enough people here willing to start a buyers club to at least be able to order staples if not produce. My one and only grocery store is attached to a McDonald’s, that’s just what this town needed more junk foods. I watched a program quite a few years ago about how the fast food places target the poorer communities. The focus of the documentary was how Krispy Kreme’s market research was to find the poorest places because they felt the poor would buy their donuts more than the wealthier towns and neighborhoods. When this leaked Krispy Kreme was pretty ticked off at being exposed and made sure everyone knew that all fast food places did this. No wonder you see more obesity in the poorer communities, they don’t have healthy options or transportation to get to where they could buy better food.

      I’m so sorry that rascal of an armadillo got into your garden. I have to admit I don’t know much about armadillos, do they like any particular plants?

      Like

      1. Armadillos like to root around in loose soil for worms and bugs. There were only seeds planted in the area she dug up, no plants yet. It might also have been squirrels. We have so many of those and they dig in everythIng, including the pots on the deck.

        Like

        1. If they like to root for worms you are in for problems, that must be so frustrating. There are animals I miss seeing now because they aren’t in this area but I am thankful it’s opened a bit more opportunities for plants I didn’t have before. My deck seems to be safe from most animals with the exception of the cats that like to use the deck itself for their toilet. I’ve come so close to trapping the cats and relocating them elsewhere but I just can’t do that to the children they belong to so I come out and clean the deck regularly.

          Like

  5. I tend not to like shopping at all including grocery shopping. However, it’s better than it used to be since I found Aldi’s. The store is not so big, and over time I have found what products we like and which ones we don’t. They have a fair amount of organic foods (both fresh and packaged). The also have decent produce prices. We eat more veggies since we started shopping there. While the fewer the chemicals the better, I always remember the recommendation, that just eating vegetables at all is more important than not eating them if you are waiting until you have something organic. So we get a mix of products.

    The point of all of this is that grocery shopping didn’t become palatable for me until I spent a while at it and figured out which stores and products suited our needs for both kind and price. Then I knew what to expect and can get in and out pretty fast and ignore all of the stuff I’m not interested in.

    Maybe sometime you can go with your son to a store that is better suited for your needs.

    Like

    1. Aldi’s has changed quite a bit from when it first opened. I went a few times maybe 20-25 years ago and wouldn’t consider bringing produce home from there. Now they even carry some organic selections. My kids have one near them and brought me some organic spinach. I can’t tell you what a treat that was for me since the move.
      I too will eat what I can to get the fruit and veggies in my body even if it’s not organic at this point but I just can’t bring myself to buy non-organic celery or bell peppers which are the most heavily sprayed. So far I haven’t had much luck growing celery but I’m going to try again because I miss it.

      I got spoiled with the farmers’ market and a store that would order foods when customers asked. Then I moved here. There is no competition for the one grocery store, unless you count a Family Dollar, so when I asked about carrying more produce (not even organic, I knew that was too big a change) I was told they carry what the people will buy and completely dismissed my request.

      I don’t ask my kids to take me shopping because it would be a lot of mileage, (80 miles round trip) but have sent money and a list home with them of things I wanted when they went shopping next. It has kind of worked out, but we are still learning. I asked for pasta one week and what I received was a box of generic mac and cheese. Little things like that we need to work out and I’ve tried to be more specific but even then we aren’t always on the same page. 🙂

      Like

  6. I hate grocery shopping too. I have food issues. They developed into health issues. Now I just go by produce and walk out. It’s going to get strange around here. I’m eating some eggs my sister brings down from where she lives. I trade her vegetable scraps the chickens. 🙂 I have a little chicken and if I find fresh caught salmon cheap enough, (rarely) I’ll have a little. I’m going to try some asparagus soup today with lots of garlic. Should be quite tasty since tomorrow we are going up to the high 80’s. 😦 We eat what we can get and as we get older with less income, it will be less and less.

    Like

    1. I used to eat a lot of fresh caught fish but salmon wasn’t available here back then. Since I’ve tried it a few times but didn’t care for it. It may be simply the difference between fresh water and salt water fish but the taste is too strong for me. You’ve got a good deal going. I’d gladly trade food scraps for fresh food. My one neighbor has a rooster we hear all the time, they work a lot but I plan to try and catch them one day and ask if they have chickens too. It would be nice to have eggs here occasionally for the children and I’d be happy to give them some of my scraps.

      How was your asparagus soup?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Haven’t made the darn soup yet. Too many interruptions. It’s been a hellufa week. Next week is no better. Getting cataract off on Thurs next week. This week is jammed too. Paint on Wed and Thurs. Tues my last quilt group for awhile. I have to take a break there too. Something has to give and I don’t want it to be me.

        Like

        1. Today was my day for interruptions and it’s driving me nuts. I don’t know about your weather but tomorrow starts a cool down for us so maybe you will get to enjoy your soup then if you also have cooler temps. Good luck with your surgery both my grandparents had cataract surgery (one was put out the other stayed awake) and they were so happy with the results they wished they’d done it years ago. For you I just hope it restores your sight enough to enjoy your various hobbies.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Today is our last dry day and it’s cooling again. Can’t paint after today but I just can’t do 90 degrees. That was the actual temp this week. I’m hoping the surgery does the trick too. In about 3 or 4 months, I can get new glasses and that will help too. But I honestly think most of the problem is in my brain. I can’t get anyone to understand when I tell them the focus doesn’t work. If I sew, I can’t drive after. If I’ve driven to the book store, I can’t see the books when I get there. ??? I don’t understand where the problem is but I don’t think it’s in my eye. Anyway, It will all work out. Everything does.

            Like

          2. Rain is predicted for tomorrow but it started today while I was out, it wasn’t too bad so I finished what I was working on. So much for trusting a forecast. 🙂

            You know I understand your situation perfectly. I have the same problem. If I look at a screen then try to look at a book it takes me forever to get my eyes to adjust to see the page. I figure it’s the muscles in the eyes that are no longer responding. I used to watch movies and games on TV with my boys and stitch or read at the same time, I can’t do that any more, like you I have to choose one activity or the other because my eyes can’t adjust to the different distances and so on.

            When I complained about a decade ago about my eyes taking forever to adjust after being in the sun I was told that happens to everyone as they age, fortunately that problem was greatly improved after I had laser surgery on my eyes.

            I’ve got my fingers crossed surgery will help you to be able to enjoy things again.

            Liked by 1 person

  7. Oh Lois, that sounds SOOOO frustrating! Is that a real grocery store you’re describing, or more of a convenience store? Seriously, the selection sounds worse than what I can find at the Dollar Store!

    I actually LOVE grocery shopping (as opposed to all other forms of shopping, which I totally hate.) But I am fortunate to have a plethora of choices at my fingertips. I love perusing the selection of produce and picking out the very best pieces. I’ve got 2 decent grocery stores in easy walking distance (under a mile) and if I ride my bike or hop in the car I’ve got about half a dozen more choices within a 5 minute ride or drive. The organic selection in my immediate neighborhood is limited but growing, and the closest store (3 blocks away) is a King Soopers (Kroger) which actually has a pretty decent selection of locally sourced foods.

    But I long ago gave up on the idea that I was going to be able to achieve any sort of perfection in terms of buying food. These days I just try to aim for making a majority of my purchases have at least one redeeming quality (organic or local or something about to expire that will get tossed if I don’t buy it, or sometimes just that I walked or biked to get it.) I do admit that I have a weakness for bell peppers, berries and grapes – which I know are all on the dirty dozen list, but are soooo expensive to buy organic. I try to be good, but often I cave and get the conventionally grown variety because at the moment organic just isn’t always in my budget.

    Anyhow, recently a Sprouts Market opened about 5 miles away. While I could get there on my bike, it would be a haul over some VERY steep hills, so I generally cave in and drive. But the selection is AMAZING. It’s mostly produce and bulk foods with small sections for dairy, meat, bakery, dry goods and “extras” (supplements, pet food, toothpaste etc.) I’d guess at least 30% of the store is organic and the prices are downright reasonable for organic and incredible for everything else. But I’m torn because I really do want to support the store that’s 3 blocks away too. So I try to split the difference and shop half and half.

    I realize these are good problems to have and that I’m really blessed. Maybe what your town needs is a small co-op or something. Do you have access to any services like a CSA farm or Bountiful Baskets or anything like that? Maybe if you got enough neighbors interested you could start one… just a thought.

    Like

      1. I don’t know how you found this and I didn’t. Thank you! Thank you! Seriously, I did a search for CSA’s and farmers’ markets before I moved here and that never came up. I’m giving them a call tomorrow and see about setting up a weekly delivery.

        Like

    1. Nope that’s a real grocery store. We have a Family Dollar here and they tend to have more food choices than the grocery store, although they have limited refrigerated or frozen foods and zero produce. One of these days I’m going to have to try and take photos of the sections of the store just to show you. I’m trying to figure out how to tell you just how small it is but I know that store sizes vary on population. I have to laugh some days because the Family Dollar and Rite Aid are larger then the grocery store. You really are lucky but then again you are living in a city, which I’m not. I recently was accepted for a handicap door-to-door bus so I can venture further out but since most of the decent shopping is in Allegany county (where Pittsburgh is) and I live in a different county the bus won’t cross county lines. I just can’t win. 🙂

      I have seriously been trying to find people who would be interested in starting a buyers group or something similar but so far I haven’t had luck. Most people around me are happy to drive across the state line to visit their favorite store… WalMart!

      Like

      1. You know, I have often thought that I l’d like to live in a small town. People always say how they enjoy the city with all of its “amenities” but honestly I just never really considered myself an “amenity” kind of a girl – I’m not much into museums, or going out etc. I never thought about a grocery store as an “amenity” though!

        But recently there have been a series of stories on the local news that caught my attention. It was about how several small towns throughout the state were suffering because the grocery stores there (one in each town) were all owned by one man. Apparently he had decided that stocking the shelves wasn’t profitable enough or something. Anyhow after a series of legal battles I think they finally got him to sell the last store to another company who actually is stocking it now, but I just can’t imagine having to deal with something like that!

        Anyhow, here’s a link to the story if you’re curious:
        http://www.thedenverchannel.com/news/local-news/wellington-bellas-market-shelves-bare-again

        Like

        1. That story is so sad and yet I can tell you it’s not unusual. I lived in a small town where the owners wouldn’t reorder food until they sold a certain percentage of the stocked food (which to him was both perishable and non-perishable) so we would find all the fresh food gone and only canned and boxed foods left. For us it was 8 miles one way to the next closest town and a store but it was enough to anger many, especially since it had people poor enough they didn’t own cars and there were no buses that crossed the county line to the next town.

          The other problem small towns have is that the stores can charge what they want if there is no competition. We had that happen in the town I recently moved from. We had two grocery stores but when one closed the other raised prices so high that I had to drive to the city to afford food for my boys. My boys loved Kielbasa and one day I went in and saw a regular-sized package being sold for $8. I went to the city at the same chain store (Giant Eagle) where I bought the same exact package for just under $4. Anyway, a Walmart moved to our town and the owner of the Giant Eagle lowered his prices back to normal. He laughed about how he got rich off the town while he had no competition. People boycotted the store after that forcing him to sell the store, we embraced the new owner and the store is thriving still.

          I have been hesitant to show too much of the store in my current town because the owners live just on the other side of my yard. They are residents who I try to believe are doing the best they can to provide a service to the community. If the residents don’t buy fresh produce it will rot leaving me to not be able to purchase actual fresh produce. I guess I should be thankful the family keeps ordering produce hoping it will sell. They could just not restock fresh food.

          I am torn between small towns and city life. I personally would love the option to occasionally go to a museum or a game but I can’t stand the traffic or how little of the natural world I see in the city, so I stick to the small towns and do the best I can.

          Like

  8. Like Anne, I am glad to live in NZ, fresh food is easy to find in every area. In saying that I also dislike having to go food shopping, supermarkets are becoming places I try to avoid. The packaged foods for toddlers and kids now also gets me and I always remember the days of batch cooking food, pureeing, freezing in ice cubes and packing into bags. What I always mumble internally at too is wipes – though I can see how handy they are I wonder why a facecloth is no longer an option, or cloth nappies for that matter. Ah, I fear I am just becoming a grumpy old lady in the midst of all this “progress”!

    Like

    1. You are lucky, Wendy. I try to accept that this area is just not going to have many options but then it gets me mad and I want options. There is no way I see of getting decent options if the people don’t demand it. Right now they are excited because another Pizza delivery restaurant is opening in the fall. I don’t know that it’s so much the pizza that has them excited as it is a business is coming here, it’s really that depressed.

      So you have those toddler foods too? I actually put the photos in of those foods in the hopes that they were only sold here and therefore no one outside the US would know what I was referring to. I too made most of the food for my babies and toddlers. My oldest would eat baby food if that’s all that was available. It was convenient when I would be away from home at meal time but my youngest refused any kind of baby food demanding from very early on.

      I know what you mean about the wipes. I get why my kids use them for the diaper cleaning but when I see the disposable wipes pulled out to wipe off faces or the high chair tray it takes a lot to hold my tongue and ask why they can’t get a rag like they do at my house. If you are a grumpy old lady then I’m in good company.

      Like

      1. A business coming is employment and that’s important, I can see why the excitement – wouldn’t it be nicer for you if it was a bulk foods shop or a greengrocer or something!? Yes, consumers drive the market and here I see big changes over the last couple of years in eating/shopping habits so that pleases me. When money is scarce though people buy simply to eat and what is cheapest.
        Nice to know I have company there lol. I walk around muttering to myself about these things 🙂 People don’t “get” me when I say something about these things so I don’t generally!

        Like

        1. You are right, employment in this town would be most welcome. I just get so discouraged because I know nothing here will change if the people don’t want better choices, guess they have to learn to eat whole foods before they will ask for them. I’m glad to hear things are changing around you as it gives me hope for my town.

          Nope, people don’t get me either so I generally keep my mouth shut too. Now the kids, they seem to be open to hearing differing viewpoints so I do let things “slip” around them hoping one or two will resonate over time with them, they are the future. 🙂

          Like

  9. I wonder just how many of us dislike shopping for groceries Lois.. Its a job I so dislike.. I spend far too much time label looking to dissect what is in the food.. Additives etc .. So I can fully appreciate how you feel

    Like

    1. There has to be a lot who dislike food shopping, Sue. I can’t imagine anyone could enjoy it nowadays. You know I used to go with my grandmother when she did her shopping, even in my teens now and then. I never minded shopping then. It was as if by knowing what we were looking for it was only to find the best cut or freshest produce. Of course shopping the farmers’ stands was fun because we went not knowing what might be available but knowing we would be happy with anything we found. Being surprised by the first harvest of peaches would make my day.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Fresh Peaches would make my day too Lois.. Here they are shipped in.. 🙂 or flown in 🙂 …. And we love Farmers Markets.. 🙂 or going to the stall holders on the market square in town.. Lots of their produce is home grown.. ( when we run out of ours ) 🙂

        Like

        1. Can’t you grow peaches there? Not being able to have fresh peaches would be horrible for me. One of the farmers’ markets has just reopened and while it’s a distance from me my daughter-in-law has offered to take me. I can’t tell you how excited I was when she informed me of those plans. Not sure how much will be there other than salad greens but even that would be a start.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. I planted dwarf varieties here so I could add more varieties of fruit trees on my property. Maybe a dwarf would be a nice addition for your allotment or back yard. I know they do best when they have some shelter from the winds (such as a house) even here.

            Liked by 1 person

          2. If I had a conservatory attached to the house I maybe would try one.. But there is not really enough room in our home.. And the green house isnt heated..Otherwise I would be trying lots of tropical types of fruit.. I have seen oranges, lemons and limes in the garden centres..

            Like

          3. I guess we all have to make sacrifices based on where we live. I can’t grow citrus here, although I’m looking into a Meyer Lemon that can be kept indoors in the winter. I wish I could share my peaches with you.

            Like

  10. Can identify with your angst on grocery shopping, Lois, though I have to say hubby does the shopping for us. I never was one for shopping of any kind. Either I can’t find what I have an idea for or there are too many choices to pick from. This supposedly “making-life-easier” age seems to be more complicated. Back in the day, when you worked a little harder to prepare a meal, life just seemed simpler. 🙂

    Like

    1. Oh if only I had someone to do my shopping for me that understood what I wanted. 🙂 My problem is I feel I don’t have enough options as most of the food sold isn’t anything I care to eat. Guess no one in this town likes to prepare meals from scratch. I think life was simpler too. We had a basic shopping list of ingredients that we knew would be prepared in only so many ways. Now just trying to find ingredients is a challenge to cook a simple meal at home.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I know what you mean, Lois. It’s definitely a challenge. Guess the only way to get around it is to have our own gardens, can our fruits and veggies and bake our own bread. Even with that the core ingredients are not the same.

        I remembered trying to make mac and cheese like my grandmother used to with grated cheddar cheese but it doesn’t taste the same because they process the cheese differently these days.

        Like

        1. Is that the reason I can’t get mac and cheese to taste like my grandmother’s? My grandchildren love macaroni and cheese and I’ve tried her recipe many times but it never comes out right. I’ve even begun trying out recipes found elsewhere but it’s just not right. At least I know it’s not me, thanks for that. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

          1. It’s the only logical reason I can come up with, Lois, and I’ve tried it many times like you. We remembered what it tasted like back then and just can’t duplicate it.

            Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts, won't you please tell me what's on your mind?

