Links I love March 18, 2016

It felt good to share interesting articles and bloggers thoughts with you a couple of weeks ago so I’m back with new links for you to enjoy.

link love

I’ve pulled back and am ignoring the ridiculous aspects of this year’s presidential primary. I cringe at the idea of some of these people making it to the White House.  In my heart I know that our diversity is what makes us great but come on now let’s at least be sane about things.  Turns out I’m not the only one feeling a bit concerned. This welcome letter from Canada showed me I’m not alone in my worries and brought a chuckle and perspective to my day.

Miss Minimalist wrote a letter to her younger self on the reasons not to buy so much stuff. It’s a good lesson for those of us starting out and motivation for anyone thinking it’s time to start paring down their belongings.

It’s time to get back to upcycling and what better way to reuse your trash than to beautify the gardens. Every little girl, and some of us big girls too, love fairy gardens. You can create a fairy garden in the tiniest of spaces with almost any materials you have on hand but these cute fairy houses are made using regular food cans. So start saving those soup and bean cans and show us your fairy houses.

Years ago I added the book The Millionaire Next Door to my sons’ reading list as part of our homeschool materials. There is a huge difference between what self-made millionaires spend and those that inherit their wealth or just want to appear wealthy. This next story reminded me of that book as it shows some self-made billionaires even follow the same principles of thrift that their less wealthy counterparts do.  Where would you shop for clothes if you had a net worth of 51 Billion dollars? Ikea founder, Ivan Kamprad, now 89 years old wants to set an example for others and continues to purchase all his clothing second-hand.

Have a lovely weekend!

17 thoughts on “Links I love March 18, 2016

  1. A few weeks ago, I heard an interview with a disc jockey in a small town in Canada who joked and said if people in the US wanted to get away because of the presidential election, they should move there. They were flooded with calls, emails, etc. about the specifics of the town such as jobs, cost of living, etc. The town had to set up new things to handle the volume of inquiries. He did it as a joke, but the people calling were serious.

    Like

    1. These stories say a lot about how we feel about our own country, sadly. My grandfather used to say he wanted to move to Canada when he retired because it was so much cleaner. He was the homeowner who was out multiple times a day picking up litter tossed into and along his property. Every time we visited Canada he would point out how there was no trash anywhere to be seen on the ground and it was for that reason he wanted to move. By the time he retired my grandmother didn’t want to move because she had her grandchildren, friends and groups she belonged to. Later when her health deteriorated and he was forced to put her in a nursing home he again lamented how his savings was wiped out by the costs and wish he had made her move.

      Like

    1. You are very welcome, Victoria. I love a good upcycle. Recycling has its place but to reuse is an even better option.

      Like

  2. Lots of interesting information. Not sure I want to be dealing with rusty cans in my fairy garden and since I rarely have a can in the house, that shouldn’t be a problem. It’s a cute idea if that’s what you want though. I took stuff to the thrift store yesterday but sure don’t need anything. I’ve looked a lot for things but rarely find anything that suits me but I have that same luck in a store. Nothing worth bringing home. I have the book you mentioned. Haven’t finished it yet. Don’t know if I’d find any millionaires here in the trailer park. 🙂 Wouldn’t mind being one of them. 🙂 Have a great weekend, Lois. Hugs

    Like

    1. We talked before about winning the lottery and it’s not something I would enjoy having happen to me, but on the other hand I wouldn’t mind being a millionaire if no one knew about my wealth. I’d enjoy anonymously helping others on my own terms. As for the cans, I’m sure by painting them they wouldn’t rust as easily but you have a point there.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. exactly…Lois..If I won the lottery, I would so love to be able to remain anonymous..for many reasons.
        one being, as you say, a person could choose quietly who to help, and do so without them even knowing it was “you” ….(or at least without a dozen other wanting the same thing.

        We just heard something on the radio a couple of days.

        They have done some sort of survey in North America (Canada and States)
        and found that within five yrs of winning a big lottery
        those “who are known” …eighty per cent have either lost it all, or in worse debt.
        They said it was not only due to foolishness, but the greedy suing them, and having
        to pay lawyers fees and such.

        re the can.
        I would more worry about sharp edges etc.

        Like

        1. I’m not at all surprised by that survey. We hear all the time about those going bankrupt after winning. I think for some it’s because the winnings are so huge they can’t comprehend that it could ever run out. For others money corrupts their values. There was a story about a man who struggled to make ends meet for his family but was happy until he won. After he won it tore the family apart resulting in divorce, he ran around with women and he ended up broke. He killed himself but before he did he wrote a letter to his ex-wife saying he didn’t want any of it all he ever wanted was her. Such a sad story.

          Like

  3. Lois,
    wonderful links. I had a quick peek at each, and will go back bit by bit and go through them.
    I think my favorite is the Ikea founder. I had read about him previously, and could hardly believe it, so looked up quite a few articles..Wow. He has always lived very frugal/second hand..”just because it was good economy, good for everything. I seem to recall him stating that most everyone in the place he came from / grew up also did. It was/is a way of life. Very good for the pocket book, very good for the environment. Also, it gives me a snappy response, next time I slip (sigh) and mention in front of a relative that I shop second hand, and get the evil looks/comments..I can now respond..”I aspire to be just like the Ikea Billionaire founder”…grin.

    will comment later on others, as I get to them.

    Like

    1. Well, I did hear about him from you. 🙂 One thing we often forget is that self-made millionaires get that way because they were frugal and once they make their money they see no reason to change and start throwing money away. On the other hand their children often end up acting entitled and flashing their inherited wealth. It’s a good lesson to look back on and see we, no matter our income, should never go overboard spending on our children and instead teach them to save up for what they want.

      I’d love to hear what your family could come up with to respond to you if you use a billionaire as your example. 🙂

      Like

      1. grin…
        yup, I too would be interested to hear what my family came up with.

        They truly confound me. They would find it fine to spend (rather a lot) on smokes etc..

        but find me very odd to shop garage sales/second hand..etc..

        ah well

        Like

        1. That’s what makes the world go round, now if only we could all learn to just accept our differences without trying to force judgements on each other.

          Like

  4. Great selection. I had already decided to translate the Miss Minimalist article for my 20 yr old daughter as she begins to think of moving out.
    It is better I don’t comment on the politics, we cannot understand however hard we try :o.
    And for all the criticism Ikea gets, I’m a pretty staunch fan – go Mr. Kamprad (who lives not too far from here…!).

    Like

    1. What a lovely thing to do for your daughter. I get the impression you and your husband have set a good example for your children but it doesn’t hurt to see other view points on the subject of what we need to set up a home. As for the US politics, trust me many of our own citizens do not understand the ins and outs of the system either.

      How interesting that Mr. Kamprad lives near you and you are aware of it. The well known wealthy people (which includes movie stars and athletes) try their best to keep their home address a secret. Ikea gets a lot of criticism but I like the store. The best thing about their stores is the labeling of country of origin which allows me to make an informed decision on whether or not I want to make a purchase. For instance I don’t purchase anything, if I can help it, that comes from China because I don’t know what conditions it was manufactured in. Yes, Ikea sells items made in China, but I can quickly see that and walk away. My drinking glasses came from Ikea, made in Italy and that I was okay with..

      Like

  5. There is an obligation by law here to label every item with its provenance.
    Agreed, this will not always be totally correct – it could have come from somewhere else and been processed in the given country, but on the whole, this isn’t too bad a reference. Many foods, in particular, are labelled and with pride when they are regional/local. Of course, in a country the tiny size of Switzerland, regional is a pretty small area! Usually within about 30 miles, often closer.
    I am slightly amused by the hype about “made in USA” – the country is so huge, there can still be large distances/transport to include in consideration and it’s an illusion to think there are no sweatshops or cheap labour, either. As far as Europe goes, products are often sold as ethical because they are made in Europe (clothes/shoes) and yet we know that the Mediterranean countries (Italy, Spain, Greece, Turkey) have way lower income levels and high unemployment, so the workshops aren’t going to be that much better or the workers better paid or treated than elsewhere, really. Still, I suppose it is (slightly) the lesser evil and products don’t travel quite so far. Of course clever marketing then often sells this products with a high mark-up and labelling them “ecological”, making them hi-end luxury-level…

    Like

    1. Well, Swiss Rose, you have taught me something new again. I had no idea there were sweatshops in Italy or Spain for that matter! Thank you. The prevailing belief here is that when faced with a decision to choose the product not made in a third world country or one just moving out of that third world designation. India comes to mind.

      Yes, just from east to west there are roughly 3,000 miles we can travel and still be in our own country. When we purchase from overseas that mileage racks up even more.

      I wish we had country of origin on all our products. When a product is made here it will state so in bold lettering but otherwise what we get is very small print identifying where it was made or now we have labels that state “distributed by” and lists a business inside the states. This helps businesses because people can’t simply reject the product because they don’t want to buy items made in specific countries.

      Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts, won't you please tell me what's on your mind?

