St. Patrick’s Day

How do we go from wanting to honor the Patron saint of Ireland to a day of drinking to excess green beer or dying our eggs and ham green? What does a leprechaun with a pot of gold at the end of the rainbow have to do with St. Patrick might be another question.

irish

St. Patrick was believed to have been captured from England by Pirates and taken to Ireland at the age of 16 where he cared for the animals. He later became a Priest and then Bishop returning to Ireland.

I may have Irish blood in me but rather than celebrating it with green food and drink I like to spend the day in nature, weather permitting, and observe the animals around me.Β  Maybe I’ll make a special treat for Elsa, my son’s dog who will be visiting today.

No matter how you celebrate St. Patrick’s day I hope you have a wonderful time. Laugh, be merry, and spend the day in any way that makes you happy.

 

Happy St. Patrick’ s Day!

10 comments

  1. Happy St Patrick’s Day to you too…

    gosh…now I will try to think of something green to make. If nothing else, maybe green jello…..

    Like

  2. Oddly, this had gone into my spam folder so I’m a little late to the party. St Pats day is no big deal hear for me. I put up my wall hanging for a week then take it down. Done. Hope you had a good one.

    Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts, won't you please tell me what's on your mind?

