She made my day, I’m still smiling

Some people look at me like I’ve lost my mind when I drag home rickety furniture to repair and find a new home for.  The end of summer I was caught by a homeowner drooling over 3 chairs.  I asked politely if these were set out for garbage.  I was told they were, and weren’t worth anything, but I could have them if I wanted. I wanted!!

I began working on the one upholstered chair.  When done I sent these two pictures to my daughter-in-law.

With the message “What do you think of my latest project?”

Her response was “What are you doing with it?”  I replied I thought it would be nice for her to have in her dining room to replace the metal folding chairs, but would probably sell them.  She eagerly said YES! she wanted them.  She then asked me how many chairs I had and I went on to explain.

This week I heard from her twice. The first time, on Thursday she asked me which day I would be arriving for Thanksgiving and if I was bringing the chairs.  I had no idea when as I was waiting to hear from her husband what day would work for him (See he has to be home when I arrive to assist me on the stairs leading into their home).  But told her yes the chairs would be arriving with me.

I received another message Saturday asking me what day I was arriving.  I reminded her that her hubby didn’t know his schedule yet and I was waiting on him.  She agreed that his schedule was up in the air this week. I had to laugh, and asked her if it was me she missed or the chairs she wanted.  She played along and told me it was both. 🙂

My son did call last night, he informed me that his wife is so excited about these chairs and can’t wait to set them in the dining room. (Then he told me she was eager to watch this season’s Dexter with me!! They record the show until I come to visit and watch it again with me)

I sent this picture to her this morning with the message “Outside, about to be packed in the car” Her response was “Can’t wait!!”

Daughter-in-law choose the paint color for the seats on the two matching chairs. Still debating chair cushions, but I’ll let that be her decision.

One person’s trash is another person’s treasure. Sure in the condition I found them not many people would have drooled over having them, but look at them now!

This is why I collect so many pieces of furniture. Yes, in a very big way it’s to save perfectly good items from ending up in the landfill, but it’s also because I get to enjoy the process of restoring something then get to see the happiness when the new owners take possession.

Oh and the cost:  $9.94 on Milk Paint for the two chair seats.  I used some sand paper and gorilla glue I had on hand.  Can you imagine what solid wood chairs would cost if my son had to buy three new ones?

There are plenty of ways to save furniture from the garbage.  First, consider Craigslist. It’s free to list and if the piece is in need of work there are plenty of people who watch Craigslist for something cheap to fix up themselves.  What other ways do you use to find or sell items you no longer need, or maybe found but don’t need yourself?

In normal life we hardly realize how much more we receive than we give, and life cannot be rich without such gratitude.  It is so easy to overestimate the importance of our own achievements compared with what we owe to the help of others.  ~~ Dietrich Bonhoffer, Letters and Papers from Prison

//

//

//

19 comments

  1. I have to say I’m not very good at restoration, and I procrastinate at getting rid of things not designated for the landfill. I’ve had boxed books in my basement for 5 years waiting to go to the second-hand book store. One box has been in my trunk for 3 months with good intentions. I’m thinking it might give me better traction this winter . . . LOL Any excuse!

    Like

    • It would give you better traction, and we need all the help we can get in winter driving. 🙂 My neighbor was tossing out two very large boxes of books, I took them and my daughter-in-law and I dropped them off at our local used book store. We got $118 in store credit. I’m going to use part of that to buy books for the grand kids for Christmas.

      Like

  2. I love redoing old things. I used to paint old furniture for a living. As I’m an artist. So for me I would have probably gone one step further on the chairs. but that’s me. Everything is a canvas! You did a great job! As always!

    Like

    • Lol thank you. I’m just having fun. I always enjoyed painting and working on my home. We’ve (meaning myself and my boys) have pulled out walls, moved walls, paneled and dry walled ourselves. Now I have trouble doing those things so I express that creative side through working on smaller things I can do in sitting position.

      Like

  3. Those turned out so nicely, Lois!
    One thing that I’ve done, to acquire furniture destined for the landfill, is ask at the very end of a garage sale what the owner intends to do with something. I write my phone number down on a piece of paper and suggest they call me if the item doesn’t sell, and they just want someone to dispose of it. I have a chair in the garage right now that I got that way. It’s a partially upholstered chair and will need quite a bit of work, but it has a vintage feel about it that I love. It may be project number two for this winter.

    Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts, won't you please tell me what's on your mind?

