One year blogging

I just realized that I had hit publish two times on November 11, 2011.  How long ago that seems.  I had no idea what I was doing. I didn’t know how to put a link in a post, or how to upload a picture. Heck, I hadn’t even realized I could send a picture from my phone camera to my email.  I had to go back a couple of weeks later and add pictures I found online at a free public domain site. It still took me longer to figure out how to add a link to my post.

I was trying so hard to put down in words the huge changes I had made in the months proceeding that first publish button.  Looking back I wouldn’t say the posts were horrible, in fact they were pretty good considering.

The first few months I had zero interest in my blog from the rest of the world, then little by little a few people started to take a peek.  I now have 100 followers as of yesterday, (thank you all) and close to 20,000 hits to this little blog.

If I had to do it all over again, I’m not sure what I would change.  I’ve grown through the process, thanks to the comments I’ve gotten better, at least I hope, in how I express myself.  I have found so many people I would love to meet and call my online friends.  Finally, thanks to Slow Living Essentials, introduced to me by Heidi @ Lightly Crunchy,(who was also my very first commenter, I have been recording my  experiences in an end of the month post. It has really been eye opening to me just how much fuller my life has become as a result of the move to my tiny apartment.

Those two posts I published in November of last year, didn’t get viewed, and were some how lost once I gained some readers.  So  I thought today would be a good time to reintroduce them. You can judge for yourself if my posts have gotten better, or not.

In Lessons I learned from my grandparents, I was able to convey how my life had come full circle to end up where I am today.

In Decluttering: Possessions are worthless unless they bring enjoyment, I wrote about the process I went through and found what really had meaning.  You will see how I went about finding the starting point to clearing out my clutter and how I progressed from there.

Hope you have time to check them out and get something from them as I think both are timely now with the holidays arriving and with it the need to choose gifts.

 

God gave you a gift of 861,400 seconds today have you used one to say thank you  ~~ William Arthur Ward

//

20 comments

  1. Congratulations on your Blogoversary! 🙂 When I started blogging, I was a bit afraid of it. I had been warned that people might not like what I had to say and might even been rude. But, as I’m sure you’ve found, the blogging world is great … there are so many wonderful people out there. Thank you for hanging in there and sharing your experiences with us! And here’s to another fabulous year of BlogLand!

    Like

  2. Congratulations on a year! I enjoy your posts and your viewpoint. And those grandkids are precious!

    I think we all begin at the beginning with this. I didn’t know how to add links, upload photos, organize a layout. It took a while.

    Happy 1st birthday, livingsimplyfree! May this first be followed with many more years.

    Like

  3. Congrats on the year and the next one to come. I too knew nothing and am learning as I go. Everyone has been very helpful to help me find my way. Somedays I think I have nothing left to say but still want to keep trying. Funny how many blogs I follow started about the same time within a few months. I’m enjoying reading your blog so keep up the great work.

    Like

    • Thank you so much for your encouragement. I have no plans to go any where I am having too much fun getting to know the people online that have befriended me. It is funny how many people started blogs and found each other.

      Like

  4. There really is a lot to learn. For some reason the post I published today wouldn’t keep the paragraphs. It kept running all together. I had to learn how to make them stick. I love learning. You do a great job. I hope you can look back one year from today and say you are still learning! Congrats!

    Like

    • I hope I can still say that, thank you. If we aren’t learning are we even living? I too have trouble with formatting my pages. When I try to add two pictures to appear next to each other I end up having my next paragraph appearing between the two no matter what I do.

      Like

    • Thank you Bethany, what a compliment! To show you how new I am, I wanted to use the term blogoversary and then wondered if it was something I had just seen on one person’s blog and didn’t want to plagiarize her. I learn something new every day.

      Like

  5. Happy Anniversary Lois! Congratulations for your year of growth AND providing a valuable and uplifting site for us. Please, please continue on and know that what you are doing IS making a difference. I’m so glad to have made the connection with you and your site and looking forward to many, many more years to come!–Kathy

    Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts, won't you please tell me what's on your mind?

