Environmental program at area elementary schools

I picked up a newspaper yesterday, what a strange feeling after not having a paper for 3 years, to read up about the local elections. Much to my surprise I found an article about a program in two elementary schools to teach the children about protecting the earth!

  My first thought was “It’s about time” but of course I had to read on to see what the program was teaching.  The information I found was limited to teaching children how to protect our waterways. Good first start, I hope they continue with a series of classes on the environment.  What the children learn will come home and maybe a few adults will actually listen to the tips and take action.

One of the first questions asked of the children was “What should you do with the half can of flat cola in your car?”  The optional answers were:

  1. Spill the soda in a parking lot and toss the can in the bushes or
  2. Dispose of the soda down your kitchen drain and add the can to your materials to be recycled.

One student remarked he didn’t realize things tossed on the ground will end up in the waterways, so maybe this class will help to get the word out to the children.

There is also a focus on how to conserve water in the home, such as taking shorter showers.

One part of the class used a “stream table” with crushed plastic for sediment and flowing water.  The students were able to shape their own streams to find ways to prevent horse urine and other possible run off from entering into the waterways.

What do you think? Do you have environmental classes being taught to your children?

Following Smart Living 365 here is the quote for today to remind us to be grateful for what we have:

He is a wise man who does not grieve for the things which he has not, but rejoices for those he has.  ~~ Epictetus

 

10 thoughts on “Environmental program at area elementary schools

  1. Disclaimer: No kids yet.

    I’m debating homeschooling for when I do have kids, and if I do homeschool I will teach them as much as I can about taking care of the earth. Of course, I also plan to have a garden, compost bin, and recycle bin, among other earth-friendly things. If they’re in school-school, I’d encourage environmental education classes if they don’t exist but I would still teach the lessons at home. Perhaps for show-and-tell I could bring in a worm bin and let the kids show their class about compost or something. Do kids these days still have show and tell?

    Like

    1. I don’t know if they do have show and tell any longer. My boys went to public school until ages 9 and 12 after at the end of that year I was so disgusted with the system and trying to work with it I pulled my boys out and home schooled them. It was the best thing I ever did for them and us as a family. They are now 25 and 28 so I’m pretty out of the loop. Unfortunately, you are in the minority as way too many families around here still drive the gas guzzling SUV and live in huge homes, so they aren’t in the least bit concerned about the environment.

      Like

      1. As for SUVs.
        There are many variables involved in choosing a car. For some it’s style, for others it’s environmental concerns and for many it’s cost or how it’s going to be used. For me, the number one factor involved when I buy a car is safety. I research the latest safety features, and determine which ones are important to me. Next I figure out how the car is primarily going to be used (long distance, short distance, hauling things,etc.). I factor in those two main variables of safety and use, and then get the cheapest car I can that has the the best gas mileage. And guess what? That is a small SUV in our case. We try to be smart in how we drive and minimize our trips. This can have as much effect on how much gas is used as the gas mileage of any one car. What people buy and how they use it is not always as it seems.

        Like

        1. You are right. I didn’t mean to offend. I was thinking of the hummers just because it’s a status of being better than what others have. My son had to trade in his car for a Honda SUV because they don’t plow the roads between his work and home at 6 am when he gets out of work. But there are so many here that bought the Lincoln Navigator because it had gold trim and had more prestige than something else. All that vehicle was used for was to drive locally around town.

          Like

          1. I don’t see as many of the huge SUV’s around any more. I wonder if they are out of style because being green is the current popular trend. I never understood it either why you would want to drive such a big car. Besides all of the obvious reasons, they are hard to park.

            Like

          2. We still have plenty around here, along with the large pick up trucks. Some of it makes sense, for some it makes them more comfortable in winter driving, and the trucks well there are plenty of farmers and handymen around who use them to transport things. They are hard to park aren’t they? For me, I guess I always liked small both in cars and homes.

            Like

  2. I think it’s good to teach children about recycling in school but it’s better that they “live it” at home. If you grow up with it, you don’t see it as being such a big deal to rinse out that glass jar and put it into a separate box.

    What I think sways most families into living more green is when the government makes it financially unattractive not to change lazy habits, e.g. increasing the price of the household “mixed rubbish” collection (but of course providing opportunities for easy and free recycling), plastic bag taxes in the supermarkets, domestic water-metering etc.

    Like

    1. I so agree with you. There are so many things that should be taught in the home. Self esteem is a big thing in the schools now. Your self esteem should come from your upbringing, as should morals, environmental issues, and learning about real food. Unfortunately, there are way too many homes where these things aren’t a part of family life.

      I still see people who think nothing of filling up their cars to make plenty of extra runs to the store or into the next town because they forgot something so the higher gas prices haven’t stopped even that for some who can still afford to toss the extra money towards gas. I would love to see plastic bag taxes in the stores, just yesterday as I was loading my 3 items I needed on the conveyor belt a woman behind me spoke up and told me she forgot her bags. She said she really tries to remember them, and that they were outside in her car. When I first made the switch to reusable bags there were plenty of times I headed back to the car to get mine so I was a little stunned to hear someone tell me her bags were right outside the door and resorted to plastic.

      Like

      1. teaching self-esteem in schools is very progressive! I do my shop once a week on a saturday and so lift my cotton bags as a routine. It’s more fashionable here though to have a Reisenthel Carrybag, or a woven basket 😉

        Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts, won't you please tell me what's on your mind?

