Requirements of life

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

We act as though comfort and luxury were the chief requirements of life, when all that we need to be  happy is something to be enthusiastic about ~~ Charles Kingsley

What do you have to be excited about?

As you can see it can be anything that involves you more in life that can bring enthusiasm into your life.  I was so tempted to fill this entire post with nothing but links of people sharing things that make them happy.  If you want to read more, check out my blogroll for plenty of inspiration.

Here are a few things I find to keep me engaged:

  • Finding a gem of a piece of furniture I can restore (you already knew that right?)  But seriously, I love painting and enjoy fulfilling the wishes of others with my finds. This would be fulfilling my creative side.
  • My children,  grandchildren and time spent with friends
  •  Music
  • A superb lasagna
  • Finding I was able to bring a smile to someones face, especially when they had a hard day.  It doesn’t have to be much.  For instance, I would pick up a large fresh tomato from the farmers market to give to a neighbor.  She relished those tomatoes, but was unable to make it to the market.
  • Gardening and enjoying a freshly chosen piece of produce from my own plot
  • Time in nature
My son claims he is a lucky man because he can still make his wife laugh after 8 years together

I could go on. But what you may have noticed is that most of these things cost little to nothing and will open our lives up to much enjoyment. Okay filling that craft room must  have cost money, but it’s something knowing Katherine that grew over time, and she  gets great enjoyment from her craft room knowing she also spends her time crating for others in her little nook.

time with grand daughter and nature what could be better?

Did you notice that our excitement doesn’t come from the latest purchase, the car with the heated seats and DVD player.  It also doesn’t come from the largest home we can afford.  If you are spending all your time cleaning your home you are missing so much in life.

I don’t want this to be my closest relationship

If you do a search for what makes people happy you will find time with family, working on a hobby, a good book and more are what make people happy.  You won’t find people excitedly telling you how their large flat screen TV changed their lives, or the latest gadget.  Those things we think we need in many cases are things we believe we need to fill the loneliness or the pieces missing in our lives.

gazing at the moon with a friend

Growing up, I saw people engaged in life.  People belonged to bowling leagues, got together on Friday nights to play cards with their best friends, had neighborhood cookouts…people were engaged in life and connected to others on a regular basis.  How are you connected outside of work?

Learning something new

Where do you find your enthusiasm?  Does your happiness come from time spent alone or with others, maybe a combination of both?

I am following Kathy at Smart Living 365 by posting a gratitude quote daily for the month of November.  Here’s today’s.

Be thankful for what you have; you’ll end up having more.  If you concentrate on what you don’t have, you’ll never have enough.  ~~ Oprah Winfrey

18 thoughts on “Requirements of life

  1. I love time alone, but that may mostly be because I rarely get it. I’m a quiet person (mostly) and I like my moments alone to read and think and be creative.

    We are surrounded by a small, close knit community and a lot of relatives, plus we interact with sports leagues, colleagues and volunteer organizations. Life is pretty good.

    And i too love a good lasagna.

    Like

    1. I do know you spend plenty of time with friends and relatives and I envy your community involvement. I have a lot more than most, but I wouldn’t mind more involvement from others around.

      I too tend to be a loner. I do get my alone time, but here I don’t have the opportunity to withdraw completely which I can do without realizing I’m doing it.

      I haven’t had a good lasagna in a while. I wish I had asked my grandmother’s best friend for her recipe it was the best I ever had.

      Like

  2. good post my friend. Sometimes we forget to appreciate the good things we have in our lives. I try not to, but I’m not perfect darn it. ha! I love lasagna too, but it never turns out the same twice.

    Like

    1. Thank you. Hey I’m not perfect either 🙂 I do try to remember the good things because so much is physically challenging that it would get me down if I didn’t. I too have given up hoping to make the perfect lasagna as well, I just go with the flow and try to enjoy whatever comes out.

      Like

  3. My kitties make me happy. Surprised? 🙂

    Actually, one of my babies spent the day in the hospital yesterday – his bloodwork came up good and he seems to be responding to antibiotics, so I’m hopeful that all will be well. Anyhow, last night, after what was a long and traumatic day for both of us, he climbed into bed with me and gave me a thorough, purring neck massage with his little paws as I drifted off to sleep. Money cannot buy that sort of happiness!

    Like

    1. No not surprised at all. I hope your kitty feels better soon, but it sounds like he knows exactly how to show you he appreciates your love, a massage is a wonderful gift and like you say money can’t replace that. Sure you can pay for a massage, but it wouldn’t come from love.

      Like

  4. You’re so right; money can’t buy happiness. It’s something I work hard to get my kids to appreciate – difficult when society all around us is obsessed with acquiring the latest this or the latest that, and what was perfectly adequate yesterday is deemed inadequate today. And finding a balance between being alone and being with others is important for me; for me the solitude is harder to come by at this stage of my life, but I appreciate when I have it!

    Like

    1. When my boys were little we rarely watched TV so I really didn’t hear my kids asking for much. But once they went to school they came home wanting everything everyone else said they had to have, or watch programs the other kids were watching. It was really hard trying to explain to my kids why Beavis and Butthead was not an appropriate program for young children, when everyone else watched it and gave them a hard time because their mother wouldn’t allow it.

      Solitude is so important for keeping my life in balance. We need that time to ourselves to unwind and reflect.

      Like

    1. I never had the big house, but I was always trying to fill my home with the best instead of good enough. There’s a big difference. Once I figured out good enough was just right for me I was able to relax and not worry about how careful people were around those items.

      Like

    1. Oh you are welcome. I enjoy your second look posts quite a bit. I find myself stopping to see what else I can see when I’m out. I’ve always felt if you weren’t always learning you weren’t living any more.

      Like

    1. I had one big retail vice that lasted for years. Books! I’m with you on the writing, and have learned that I can get my reading for free at the library. I may have to wait for them to purchase a book, but it’s worth the savings and I don’t need to have the latest book as soon as it comes out.

      Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts, won't you please tell me what's on your mind?

