Loving possessions

It was our belief that love of possessions is a weakness to be overcome.  Its appeal is to the material part, and if allowed its way, it will in time disturb one’s spiritual balance.  Therefore, children must learn the beauty of generosity.  They are taught to give what they prize most, that they may taste the happiness of giving. — 

Ohiyesa (Charles Eastman) Santee Sioux Writer and Elder (from Native Wisdom for White Minds)

Giving is a gift we can give daily from a simple smile to a passerby to actually giving of our time to help someone else.  Giving doesn’t have to be monetary in nature, but giving of yourself will improve not only the recipients day but yours too.  Can you make a difference? See how many people it takes to make a difference  to see how you can make a big difference in someone else s day today.

 

Makes my day when I see how happy she is to see me.

Today, my son had off of work and decided to take his family to the zoo.  His daughter informed him she wanted grandma to go as well because (in her words) “I love grandma”.  So off I went to spend the afternoon at the zoo.
I decided to make sure my day wouldn’t be interrupted by the phone and left my cell at  home.  Forgetting that my phone also serves as my camera so I have no pictures to share from our day.

Once home, my son dug a hole and my grand-daughter planted a sunflower plant I promised I would save for her to plant.  Then she had to check the strawberries.  She found one the first pass through and savored the taste.  On the second pass, she found three large ripe and juicy strawberries calling her name.

She picked the berries, then proceeded to give one to mom and one to dad before eating the one left for her.  She told her dad he had to have one because he doesn’t get to have many because he works a lot.

It’s true, he works third shift so many times her mom  will visit me with the children to allow  him a quiet house to sleep in.

My son informed me that he had wanted to give his daughter a special day, yet while we had fun at the zoo, it was her sharing the strawberries that made his day.   You have to know just how much that little girl loves her strawberries to understand how sweet it was that she made sure she shared equally, and didn’t eat them all herself.

What do you notice first? How much a little girl enjoys her daddy, or how much daddy loves his daughter?

I know what I have given you….I do not know what you have received.  — Antonio Porchia

Take a moment and if nothing else, smile at the next person you pass.  It might be the highlight of their day.

//

I'd love to hear your thoughts, won't you please tell me what's on your mind?

