Hinting of a jewel box

With such beautiful weather I haven’t been spending much time indoors until this weekend.  Which has given me time to consider the environment in which I surround myself when I come home.

I was recently browsing through an issue of Spirituality and Health magazine (issue Jan/Feb 2012) and came across this:

What we call dream homes are often impersonal monuments to the loneliness …they have all the right spaces and all the right brands…but a dream home can also be a jewel box – small and beautifully crafted and hinting at the jewels inside.

I thought that so perfectly fit what my home has become.  From the outside it is a nondescript building suggesting its former life as a small hotel, but inside I have infused it with the things I find beautiful.

When my sons, and their wives, first saw the space, empty and waiting for my belongings to fill it up they felt it was too small to live in and bland.  Once my art was hung and the few possessions I held dear were in place it made the space feel bigger and homey.   This home, while so much smaller than anything I ever dreamed I’d be living in, is more comfortable for not only me but those who visit as well.

I am beginning to learn that it is the sweet, simple things of life which are the real ones after all.  Laura Ingalls Wilder

When I look around I see the small jam jar filled with wild daisies picked from the nearby fields, framed photos of family, colors that are soothing and a set of glass wind chimes that add a lovely sound when the wind blows. My grandmother’s tea pot is sitting ready when guests arrive and bring back memories of her and I conversing with our tea.  I know I am home.

Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication Leonardo DaVinci

When you come home, what catches your attention?  What one thing makes your home feel  it belongs to you?

2 thoughts on “Hinting of a jewel box

I'd love to hear your thoughts, won't you please tell me what's on your mind?

