Looking back at winter in tiny apartment

image courtesy pixabay.com

When I told people where I would be living, and how small a space I would be living in those who were ready, and willing, to support my decision were concerned about what I would do during the winter months.  Everyone knows I love to be outdoors, but hate the cold and the snow.

So how did this winter go?

I have to say surprisingly well. At first when the temps fell, things were moved inside, and the days got shorter I wondered how I would fill the hours. The question of what I would do during the winter began to sink in. What had I done before during the winter months? That’s right, I cleaned, I was always cleaning.  There were fingerprints on the stove and TV, dust collecting on the range hood, floors to mop from snow and salt….

At first I was a little taken aback by how little I had to do to keep my home feeling clean and neat. But finding I had more time is just like finding you have more money.  What happens when you get a raise? It’s gone just as fast as before you had the raise, unless you are one of those people who are very careful with their money. You find a way to spend it. It was no different with my time. I had extra hours, I filled them.

  • I undertook learning about blogging and started this blog (still learning).
  • I helped my son to become a published author by working as his editor and publisher.
  • I took the time to evaluate what I still had and whether I still wanted it.Which even in 300 sq feet meant two more trunk loads in my car to take to the thrift store.
  • I had time to think about an alternative to wrapping paper for the holidays and created my own gift bags, finishing them before Christmas. A year ago, I wouldn’t have found the time to follow through.
  • Spent more time with my family than in previous years.
  • Had plenty of time to read.
  • Created a few new art pieces
  • Completed a few projects sitting around waiting for me to find the time to return to them, or passed them on to others who wanted to finish them if I no longer wanted them.
  • I actually had time to make gifts for people this year and enjoyed the process
  • Took more time to prepare my own meals instead of grabbing something because I was too tired to cook
  • Found more time to exercise and meditate
  • Took time to put on good music part of the day, and time for silence at other times. Strange how soothing silence can be. Have you realized how it’s never totally silent, there is always a background noise we miss..
  • Created a ritual of a warm cup of herbal tea and a book before retiring for the night.
  • Entertained more this year.
  • Had more sleepovers with my grand children.
  • Joined neighbors in planning our community garden for this spring.

I wouldn’t go back to the way I had been living for anything. Dusting and cleaning all day I will gladly leave to others.  Now that winter is over, it’s time to move back outside for a while. If you have downsized and found more time how did you fill that time?

I'd love to hear your thoughts, won't you please tell me what's on your mind?

