How do you want to be remembered

image courtesy pixabay.com

Life is full of choices. Some days we feel we have too few, other days too many. I have seen my life as a series of forks in the road. I can either do this and have this outcome or do that and see what comes.

The problem we run into is making our choices without first understanding who we are. If you don’t take the time to get to know yourself you are likely to make plenty of wrong choices.

So here’s a simple question to get to the heart of the matter. How do you want to be remembered? I asked myself this question and found the answers were pretty surprising. I had long wished for success and acceptance. But what was success and how would I know when I had been accepted for who I was deep down inside, especially when I was too busy trying to get through the days to know myself.

Life is strange, I learned I didn’t care how much money I had, or fame, or what type of home I lived in as long as I had what I needed.  Success was now about expressing myself, not hiding the parts I wasn’t comfortable embracing.

I took the time to list all the things I cared deeply for. The top three are my family and close friends, my health, and the environment. Once I knew that it was easy to let go of the rest.

How do I want to be remembered? I want to be remembered as someone who lived true to her values, and who was there for the people she loved.  it’s really that simple. How do you want to be remembered?

I'd love to hear your thoughts, won't you please tell me what's on your mind?

