Exercise equipment in tiny home

Exercise is a big part of my life. I need to move, and love how I feel afterwards. Since I have a disability, I had to learn to love exercise as a young child as it would allow me to keep my body going, allow me to live a fuller life.  Exercise must available where ever I am. I don’t want to pay for a gym membership, yet wanting to live in a small space I had to have realistic expectations of what equipment I could bring with me.

What equipment to fit in less than 300 sq feet

My bowflex, I made it fit as it gives me the best strength workout. This was a hand-me-down from my eldest son. He is a body builder and had found he no longer received enough of a work out using this. Since he wanted to make room in his home he gave this to me as a gift.

Ankle weights and dumbbells. These can be stored in a corner, or under my bed. Lately, I have been storing them under the bed in this basket.  I found this ten years ago and it’s held up well.  It has handles built in on each end which allows me to pull it out easily and  keeps grand kids from wanting to play with them.

Hula-Hoop, this one piece of equipment is by far the easiest to store, and the most fun to use.  This is really a toy, one I had as a child.  I know you are asking what kind of exercise is fun? Well, the answer is a hula-hoop!  My hula-hoop cost me five dollars, and can be stored just about anywhere, be that in a closet or behind the dresser. Best of all, it’s simply fun. Put on some upbeat music and start working out. At this price you can buy one for each member of the family, go outside and have fun while getting a workout.

Stair stepper Most stair steppers are bulky but this little gem is perfect for any small space.  It stores easily, doesn’t need to be folded up to do so either.

I keep this just inside my closet on the floor.  I pull it out and can use it right there in the hallway and slide it away when done.  These sell for $20 new but can be found used for as little as $5.

Nothing like the great outdoors With so many places to walk and hike around me there is no excuse to sit in doors when weather permits.  There are plenty of benches and picnic tables through my town where I can sit with a light lunch. My favorite place to sit is by the lake.  This spot is directly across the street from my home, how lucky can one person be?

Resistance Bands If you don’t have the money or want to set aside space for a large piece of equipment this is a perfect choice.  My resistance band came with a piece which fits in the cracks along a door so I can work out all body parts depending on where I attach it.  Not having to attach it permanently to the door it is a perfect fit for anyone who rents.

So if your goal is to get in shape or just have fun staying in shape,  save your money, skip the gym, and have fun. You will enjoy it much more than that gym membership you were thinking about purchasing.

I'd love to hear your thoughts, won't you please tell me what's on your mind?

